60.5 F
New York
Sunday, May 19, 2024

Designations of Former Surinamese President Desiré Delano Bouterse and Six Former Surinamese Military Officials Due to Involvement in Gross Violations of Human Rights

The United States is today announcing the designations of former Surinamese President Bouterse and six former Surinamese military officials: Benny Brondenstein, Stephanus Marinus Dendoe, Iwan Dijksteel, Ernst Gefferie, Kenneth Kempes, and Lucien Lewis pursuant to Section 7031(c) of the Department of State, Foreign Operations, and Related Programs Appropriations Act, due to their involvement in extrajudicial killings of political opponents during the “December Murders” of 1982.  These individuals and four family members are generally ineligible for entry into the United States.

The United States commends Suriname for its commitment to the rule of law, including its effort to maintain judicial independence and combat official impunity.  As Secretary Blinken has noted, ending impunity is one of the best ways to prevent future abuses.  The strength of Suriname’s judicial institutions demonstrates the value of the rule of law as a critical pillar in the preservation of democracy and protection of human rights.

Official news published at https://www.state.gov/designations-of-former-surinamese-president-desire-delano-bouterse-and-six-former-surinamese-military-officials-due-to-involvement-in-gross-violations-of-human-rights/

- Part of VUGA Media Group -digital marketing best company

Latest article