77.4 F
New York
Sunday, July 14, 2024

92nd AAU Sullivan Award Ceremony Wins Silver at 44th Telly Awards

AAU, Sports Stories, and Allport Productions Combine to Win Silver in Television Category

The Telly Awards, the world's largest honor for video and television content across all screens, announced this year's winners May 23. "The 92nd AAU Sullivan Award — Live from Honolulu" was named "Silver Winner" in the television category. 

World champion and Olympic Gold Medalist surfer Carissa Moore, winner of the 92nd AAU Sullivan Award, beat out a group of finalists that included collegiate softball legend Jocelyn Alo, Olympic wrestling champion Jordan Burroughs, collegiate baseball star Ivan Melendez and 2021 Heisman Trophy winner Bryce Young, the first overall pick in the 2023 NFL draft. 

Moore was presented with the AAU Sullivan Award during the Hawaii Waterman Hall of Fame ceremony at the historic Outrigger Canoe Club in Honolulu on Dec. 8, 2022.  Moore was the first surfer and first Hawaiian native ever to win the prestigious award, which has been presented annually by the AAU since 1930 to the most outstanding athlete in the United States at the collegiate or Olympic level.

The 17-minute feature of the presentation was streamed on HBCU-GO and aired on LA36 Cable TV as well as Chicago Access Network Television, which made the feature eligible for The Telly Awards' highly competitive "Television" category. 

Established in 1979, The Telly Awards received more than 12,000 entries this year from all 50 states and five continents. Entries are judged by The Telly Award Judging Council, a group of leading video and television experts from some of the most prestigious companies in entertainment, publishing, advertising, and emerging technology.

The Telly Award winners included a number of well-known channels, media organizations and companies, including Adobe, Al Jazeera, Apple, BBC Global, CBS, Disney, ESPN, HBO, Netflix, Microsoft, and PlayStation.

The Amateur Athletic Union (Orlando, Florida) and President Jo Mirza were the Executive Producers of the "The 92nd AAU Sullivan Award — Live from Honolulu." The show was produced by Denny Lennon (Sports Stories, Inc.) and Christopher M. Allport (Alpha Command Unit/Allport Productions). This marks the first time the AAU has won a Telly Award and the third time for the Sports Stories/Allport Productions collaboration, which last won in 2021 in the "On-Line Documentary" category for "The Definitive Jerry West."

Watch the award-winning ceremony here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=he3XGcRrO9A&t=5s.

Contact Information:
Kelsey Burr
Public Relations Manager, AAU
[email protected]

Original Source: 92nd AAU Sullivan Award Ceremony Wins Silver at 44th Telly Awards
- Part of VUGA Media Group -digital marketing best company

Latest article